Drinking water from a fire hydrant, how I study in Medical School.

The MS0s are firing away on their Facebook class page and one question is “How do you study in Medical School?” Everyone has heard the phrase that medical school is like trying to drink water from a fire hydrant. Oh boy – so much truth in that statement.

Everyone studies a little bit differently in medical school, and MS1 year you try out different methods until you find the study method that works for YOU. My method might not work for you, but it works for me and here it is.

FullSizeRender
Our class lecture slides are posted online and lectures are recorded. Before the week starts I download all of the lecture slides for the week on my ipad. Next I go through and watch Pathoma videos/Kaplan/any USMLE review videos on the topics we are covering this week and take notes. Then I take a blank spiral and go through lecture slides and write out an outline and important information on disease processes that our professors stress. I then go side by side with Pathoma and highlight/star or add any important buzz words or information into my notebook. This way I have a cohesive lecture/STEP study source. I then read over these notes and try and give a lecture to someone in my head over the topics. (If you can teach someone the material – then you know it!). I then go through questions (the earlier the better) and test myself on the material, annotating my notebook for information I get wrong. ย I also *star* questions that I think are great/material I find difficult and the night before the exam I go over these questions.

Comment below or send me a message if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

